Doing As Jesus Directed

Do this…’ in remembrance of Me, are the words spoken so clearly by Jesus to His disciples at the Last Supper.

Genuine disciples do what Jesus commands, don’t they?  Running through the gospel accounts is the pulse of obedience which marks those who claim to have encountered Jesus Christ as Lord.

Recall the words of the mother of Jesus at the wedding in Cana? “Whatever He says to you, do it.”

Recall the recorded response of the disciples as Jesus directed them to acquire a donkey and her colt? “The disciples went and did as Jesus had directed them.” 

Recall the prompt action of the disciples after they had queried Jesus about the location of the Passover meal?  “So the disciples did as Jesus had directed them.”

Recall the Great Commission?  If you’ve been a believer for even a few years, you know this text! “…and teaching them to obey everything I have commanded…”

Obedience is no optional extra.  The challenge is paying attention, identifying the commands, the directives, the promptings that by the Spirit of God our Lord presses upon us.  Obedience is not a one time action but a lifetime pursuit.

So let me ask you as I ask myself?

  1. Do we know what Jesus has commanded?
  2. Are we being obedient?

Following Christ isn’t complex, but it demands a total commitment of one’s mind, will and emotions.

On this Good Friday 2017, ponder afresh the words of a solid hymn penned by Isaac Watts–

1 Alas! and did my Savior bleed, and did my Sovereign die!
Would he devote that sacred head for sinners such as I?

2 Was it for crimes that I have done, he groaned upon the tree?
Amazing pity! Grace unknown! And love beyond degree!

3 Well might the sun in darkness hide, and shut its glories in,
when God, the mighty maker, died for his own creature’s sin.

4 Thus might I hide my blushing face while his dear cross appears;
dissolve my heart in thankfulness, and melt mine eyes to tears.

5 But drops of tears can ne’er repay the debt of love I owe.
Here, Lord, I give myself away; ’tis all that I can do.

Amen, Isaac Watts, Amen!

Leave a Reply

