Access Through Him

I was invited. I accepted. I was allowed to enter into a restricted area of the company and no one questioned my being there.

One evening a few weeks ago, I was trying to repair our kitchen faucet. The dripping wouldn’t stop and Mr. “I’ll-try-fix-it-myself” concluded new parts were needed.  I shut the water supply off and headed to our local building supply store with my request. The gentleman serving the plumbing department could not have been more helpful.  He saw my concern, asked good questions, then said plainly, “Come with me.” We headed back to the front of the store, to a room with a sign clearly marked “AUTHORIZED PERSONNEL ONLY.” We went through the door without question and he directed me to find what I needed from the abundant supply of stock. What amazed me further was his comment, “There’s no charge.  Don’t you know _________’s lifetime guarantee?”

The truth of the matter was and is, I didn’t know.  I had lived with a ‘dripping tap’ for several days when in just a few moments it could have been repaired at someone else’s expense.

I’ve pondered the above illustration many times.  I had access, privileged access, through the authority the right man possessed. The same is true, amazingly true, in my relationship with God through Jesus Christ.

As Jesus ‘breathed his last’ on a hill called ‘Calvary’ at a place called ‘Golgotha,’ the gospel writer Mark transfers our focus to the temple, that sacred site, and to the thick tightly-woven curtain shielding the Holy of Holies from the view of outsiders.  He writes, “The curtain of the temple was torn in two from top to bottom.”  

Something MAJOR has just happened.  There is access into God’s presence through this torn curtain/veil.  What was torn that day? The curtain.  The book of Hebrews reminds us that it was Christ’s body that was torn, His flesh ‘ripped apart’ that we might have access.  “He who knew no sin,” who had never yielded to the temptations of the devil, “became sin for us that we might me made the righteousness of God in Him.”

What great news! We have access into God’s presence.  He sees our concern, he understands our need and then says plainly to us, “Come with me.” 

Won’t you sing this day, “Amazing love, HOW CAN IT BE, that THOU, my GOD would DIE for ME?” Thank God in prayer, that because of CHRIST’s finished work, we have access through HIM.

Leave a Reply

