Brought to Golgotha

The place called Golgotha, where Jesus was crucified, was a place of death.  Golgotha means “the place of the skull.” This public place of execution was used by the Romans on many occasions and demonstrated openly their ‘just punishment’ of serious offenders.

Jesus was brought to Golgotha. He was about to die with and for sinners. The Romans perceived this as just another execution, though the soldiers would be deeply impacted by his conduct. They cast lots for the ‘clothes’ Jesus was leaving behind. What a contrast with the ostentatious garments worn by the rich! What an enforcement of the principle of contentment with little.

Two rebels were also brought to Golgotha. One on his right and one on his left hung with him as they too were about to die.  The one ‘thief on the cross’ found repentance at the eleventh hour.  He had brought as a guilty rebel.  He died ready to join Jesus that day in Paradise.

I’ve been brought to Golgotha. I’ve come here again and again and marvelled that the Lamb of God would take my place, would bear my shame, would die my death.  I deserve to suffer.  I’ve thought, said and done things which offend God and others.  I need forgiveness.  My heart leaps for joy as I read “Christ died for our sins, according to the Scriptures.” I joyfully now sing, “Amazing grace, how sweet the sound that saved a wretch like me….” I gladly declare, “I need no other argument, I need no other plea.  It is enough that Jesus died and that He died for me.”

Leave a Reply

