I Wonder As I Wander…

Only once this year did I hear the thought-provoking Christmas song, “I Wonder As I Wander…”  There is plenty of food for thought in the Incarnation of Jesus Christ. I’ve been meditating on Luke 2:19 “But Mary treasured up all these things and pondered them in her heart.”

I have two questions which I am asking myself as I conclude 2015.

#1 What have I been treasuring up in my heart? #2 What have I been pondering in my heart?

To treasure something is to value it. Jesus did not say, “Where your heart is, there your treasure will be…” but rather,”Where your treasure is, there your heart will be also.” (Matthew 6:21) My heart will follow my treasure.  My daily investments of time and energy reflect what I treasure. What does God see me treasuring, placing inestimable value on as I go about my daily activities? What changes must I make in 2016 to more clearly reflect S.D.G. (Sola Deo Gloria) – To the Glory of God alone in my daily living.  This is a time of repentance, renewal and recommitment to BE who God wants me to be and then to DO what God wants me to do.

To ponder something is to mull it over. Sound bytes, tweets, Facebook posts – if pursued in excess do not allow time for much pondering. We don’t have many ‘Selah’ moments in our daily lives. We must make good use of the times God gives us.  All of us have different callings, assigned to us by an all wise God, who has created us and entrusted us with privileges and responsibilities.  Take time to ponder–I intend to do this with more regular journaling and times of silence, something our ‘noise-filled’ culture knows little of in 2015.

So how about you? What are you treasuring? What are you pondering? As the shepherds returned back to their daily routines, the magi to the homes in the East and Mary and Joseph began the challenging task of parenting, they all had plenty to think about. As we bid farewell to visiting family and friends, let’s budget some time and energy to reflect upon what God has been seeking to teach us.  Selah.

Leave a Reply

