What Every Saint Needs!

All believers in Jesus Christ are spoken of as “saints”in the books of Scripture.   Psalm 116:15 reminds us that “Precious in the sight of the LORD is the death of his saints.” God’s ‘holy ones,’ those rescued by His amazing plan of redemption are the great objects of His love.

In Ephesians 1, Paul launches his letter to the church in Ephesus, with identification of himself as author and the “saints in Ephesus,” the “faithful in Christ Jesus,” as the recipients of this spiritually-rich letter.

Paul is an apostle of Christ Jesus.  This is his calling, his assignment as a foundation-layer (chapter 2:20) in the building God was erecting through His Son’s finished work.  God’s will for Paul gave him direction and a mandate for service.  Each believer may “test and approve” what God’s will is (Romans 12:2) that it is good, pleasing and perfect.  God did not promise it would be easy, but yielding to His plan provides a level of joy and delight that nothing else on earth can offer.

What is God’s will for you? How are you determining it? How is He unfolding it to you and through you? I have often found that others sense the will of God more clearly than I do, thus I seek biblically-wise counselors. As part of a local body of believers, doing life together with them means together we discover, affirm and pursue the will of God. I can look back at over 45 years of seeking to follow Christ and express my gratitude to God and others for their part in spurring me on in my journey.

What do these saints in Ephesus need? What do saints in Canada or India (a country dear to my heart that I will soon visit) or for that matter in any country need? We all need what God offers to provide.  “Grace and peace…”

God’s resources are available. The issue I need to understand is how to access them.  God promises to supply all my need. His divine power has given me everything I need.  As I experience His grace and peace I may share that with others.  What do I have to benefit or build up others? Nothing of lasting value, except what God has entrusted me to use.  What an amazing privilege to be an agent of grace and peace to others, to be used by God in just one life let alone a small group or an entire congregation!

Leave a Reply

