In His Father’s Hands

Throughout my life I’ve had various comments about the size of my hands. My father and grandfathers had large hands, well-suited for the hard work they tackled throughout their lifetime.  Larger than average hands have proven a blessing on many occasions.

I remember the first time I held my newborn daughters in my hands. What a blessing! What a huge responsibility God had entrusted to me! Perhaps some of you remember the insurance commercial, “You’re in good hands with ……” I’m sure the company cared for its clients, but my life is not in their hands–its in the hands of God, my Father.

In I Peter 2:23-25 Peter depicts the remarkable way that Jesus handled insults, and reminds us of the efficacy of Christ’s death for us. “When they hurled their insults at him, he did not retaliate; when he suffered, he made no threats.  Instead, he entrusted himself to him who judges justly.  He himself bore our sins in his body on the tree, so that we might die to sins and live for righteousness; by his wounds you have been healed. For you were like sheep going astray, but now  you have returned to the Shepherd and Overseer of your souls.”

Jesus ‘entrusted himself to him who judges justly.’ The Son of God placed himself in the Father’s hands in an act of submission.  What was this Son-Father relationship like? Read through the gospels and at the Baptism and Transfiguration of Jesus, and you discover the unmistakeable endorsement in the words – “This is my beloved Son….in whom I am well pleased…..listen to Him!” In John’s gospel, Jesus reminds the Jews – “The Father loves the Son and shows Him all He does.”

Peter, who shared in the ‘insulting’ of Christ in his own way, recalls the mystery of Christ’s godly response.  There in the courtyard Peter had denied any acquaintance with Christ, yet how does Christ respond to this abandonment? “He turned and looked at Peter.”  Through these  hours of intense, unjust suffering, how does Jesus ‘cope?’ He stays silent.  In actions and words He proves the depth of the amazing love God has for guilty sinners.  He places himself in the care of His Father and ‘endures’ the cross.

On this Father’s day, your own father may not have proven trustworthy, but God invites you to a new relationship through His Son, Jesus who is called the Christ.  Surrender your life to the Son of God.  Trust the One whose hands are nail-pierced and experience the joy of being welcome by the outstretched arms of the Father.  You’re in good Hands!

Those who know Jesus Christ may well sing “Safe am I, Safe am I, in the hollow of His hand!”  Happy Father’s Day! May God, as our Father not say to us what He said to the people of Malachi’s day – “A son honors his father, and a servant his master.  If I am a father, where is the honor due Me?”

Leave a Reply

