Seasonal Pleasures

“There is a charm about the forbidden that makes it unspeakably desirable.”  Mark Twain’s pithy statement reflects a Biblical principle of the insatiable delight in evil by sinners.

Consider Hebrews 11:25 where Moses “chose to be mistreated along with the people of God rather than to enjoy the pleasures of sin for a short time.”  Sin has seasonal pleasures, but the quick burst of ‘energy’ from the ‘spiritual junk food’ soon wears off in the reality of daily living.  The “ecstatic” experience of engaging in the forbidden turns to regret as the consequences take their toll in our physical, mental, economic and moral lives.

Look also at Romans 7:7,8 “For I would not have known what coveting really was if the law had not said, “Do not covet.”  But sin, seizing the opportunity afforded by the commandment, produced in me every kind of covetous desire.”  Post a speed limit, pass a new law, restrict someone’s preference and you will discover a defiant willful engagement by violators.

The Bible is replete with examples of sinners who chose the pleasures of sin over the painfulness of obedience.

a) Judas – who for 30 silver coins betrayed his ‘master’ only later to be filled with overwhelming regret.

b) Peter – who boastfully declared his undying allegiance to Jesus Christ only later to fill the air with oaths that he did not know Him.

c) David – whose delinquent engagement in the ‘normal’ activity of kings, left often a door for temptation which only compounded as the reality of his yielding needed further ‘covering.’

In Luke 5 as Jesus impacts the lives of his fisherman ‘friends,’ Peter declares, “Go away from me, Lord; I am a sinful man!”  Praise God, Jesus did not obey that request.   When I choose what is evil and yield to the charm of the forbidden, I, more than ever, need the holy presence of my Saviour.

On this new day, let us sing with great joy and openly confess Jesus Christ as our GREAT SAVIOUR!

“I take Him at His word indeed, ‘CHRIST died for SINNERS,’ this I read,

For in my heart I find  a need, Of HIM to be my SAVIOUR!”

From the Valley of Vision, I found an excerpt of prayer

“Give me to feel a need of his continued saviourhood, and cry with Job, ‘I am vile,’ with Peter, ‘I perish,’ with the publican, ‘Be merciful to me, a sinner.’   Subdue in me the love of sin.”

 

Leave a Reply

