The Word of God

“The highest proof of Scripture is uniformly taken from the character of Him whose word it is. The prophets and apostles boast not their own acuteness or any qualities which win credit to speakers, nor do they dwell on reasons; but they appeal to the sacred name of God, in order that the whole world may be compelled to submission.” (John Calvin)

The Apostle Paul writes in I Thessalonians 2:13 “And we also thank God continually because, when you received THE WORD OF GOD, which you heard from us, you accepted it not as the word of men, but as it actually is, THE WORD OF GOD, which is at work in you who believe.”

Questions –
1) When I preach or teach do I speak “as one speaking the very words of God?” (I Peter 4:10-12)
2) When I listen to others preach or teach do I receive/accept the message of God’s word through them as coming from God?
3) When I receive God’s word, in what ways does it work in my life? What changes has this past week’s teaching brought about in my life?
4) What new commitment must I make to God this day as a giver and receiver of His word?

20140623-075445-28485335.jpg

Leave a Reply

