SOLA SCRIPTURA – The B-I-B-L-E – YES, that’s THE BOOK for me!

I recall singing “The B-I-B-L-E, yes that’s the book for me…..” many times as a child, teenager and even as an adult. The Bible (as my dad reminded us often) was God’s inspired, inerrant, infallible Word. “How FIRM a foundation ye saints of the LORD is laid for your faith in HIS EXCELLENT WORD.”

Things have shifted in many churches and among many leaders. In an effort to somehow “improve” on the Bible, new fictional books have been penned to tackle various biblical topics. Have you kept up?

This Present Darkness & Piercing The Darkness came from the pen of Frank Peretti, who in my opinion is a very descriptive author. I read This Present Darkness the first time in one sitting – it was a book I could not put down! BUT – I don’t base my understanding of the doctrine of angels on a fictional account – I trust the BIBLE!

The Shack penned by William P. Young invented a ‘fresh’ look at the Trinity. Despite the fact that this book is fictional and contradicts Scripture in many ways, it swept the evangelical churches like a theological tsunami. BUT – I don’t base my understanding of the doctrine of the Trinity on a fictional account – I trust the BIBLE!

Now we have Heaven Is For Real – another book that deviates from Scripture but again is poised to alter the Biblical convictions of many – this time on the subject of another topic addressed clearly in Scripture, namely heaven. And now with the movie version coming out, the Bible will be moved to the back of Christian bookstore shelves, because it will be felt a child’s ‘experience’ must surely be superior. BUT – I don’t base my understanding of the doctrine of heaven on a fictional account – I trust the BIBLE!

I don’t know about you….but if I have a choice between a God-breathed (inspired), inerrant (in its original autographs) text and a fictional, speculative text I’ll choose the Bible every time. Perhaps our churches need to start singing again – “The B-I-B-L-E….yes THAT’s THE BOOK for me, I stand alone on THE WORD OF GOD, The B-I-B-L-E.” Yes – SOLA SCRIPTURA – Scripture alone. The Bible is our FINAL authority for faith and practice – at least it used to be…..

20140421-074217.jpg

Leave a Reply

