Grow Spiritually

Later this month I will leading a retreat for 2nd generation Korean Young Adults on the theme of Spiritual Growth.   As part of my own spiritual journey, I read in various books that portray people and events in Church History.    Today’s reading profiled Gustaf Palmquist, an early founder of Swedish Baptists, known better as The Baptist General Conference or by their current nomenclature Converge Worldwide.

As part of Converge Worldwide’s website they challenge their members to Grow Spiritually.

Grow spiritually is a fundamental core ministry of Converge.  The heart changing work of the Holy Spirit is the beginning and the end of transforming communities and changing our world.  Resourcing, strategies, ministry mechanics, and how to’s are all important.  Yet, there is nothing more important than the foundational journey within between God and a spiritual leader.  This is where movements begin.  

Here is the video they briefly use to sketch their history

How true – NOTHING is more important than the foundational journey within between God and myself as a spiritual leader.  I neglect this to my own peril.  Paul urged Timothy to “watch your life and doctrine closely (I Timothy 4:16).  Spiritual growth will only occur by God’s grace, with the help of His Spirit as I yield my life entirely to Christ.

I join with the hymnwriter and offer myself to Christ –

O Jesus, Lord and Savior,
I give myself to Thee,
For Thou, in Thy  [redemption],*
Didst give Thyself for me;
I own no other Master,
My  heart shall be Thy throne,
My life I give, henceforth to  live,
O Christ, for Thee alone.
Source:  http://www.hymnal.net/hymn.php/h/456#ixzz230Fe5WmG

It is only in this way that I shall grow spiritually.

 

Leave a Reply

