Your Essential Nature is Truth ?

In the Living section of the Toronto Star, July 19, 2011 an article entitled “Yoga instructor to the stars writes about spiritual quest”  caught my interest.   In the second paragraph, Leanne Delap writes “You have to remind yourself that your essential nature is truth….”     I’m grateful to God that He spared me the influence of such teaching.

What a contrast is portrayed in Scripture!    You have to remind yourself that your essential nature is _____________.    How would you fill in the blank?   I’ve opted for the word “sinful.”

Consider these texts:

Psalm 55:5 “Surely I was sinful at birth, sinful from the time my mother conceived me.”

Jeremiah 17:9 “The heart is deceitful above all things and beyond cure.   Who can understand it?”

Romans 3:11 “….there is no one who understands, no one who seeks God.  ….there is no one who does good, not even one.”

Romans 7:18 “I know that nothing good lives in me, that is, in my sinful nature.”

Ephesians 2:3 “All of us also lived among them at one time, gratifying the cravings of our sinful nature and following its desires and thoughts.   Like the rest, we were by nature objects of wrath.”

People whose essential nature is truth don’t see their need for THE TRUTH (John 14:6).   My essential nature is marked by sinfulness.   I need a Saviour.   Your view of yourself hugely impacts your view of the Saviour.

I love the old hymn which states –

“I take Him at His word indeed, ‘Christ died for sinners this I read,’

For in my heart I find a need of Him to be my Saviour!

or another hymn which declares “Sinners Jesus will receive, sound this word of grace to all…..”     This is GOOD NEWS or what we more popularly call the gospel.

Leave a Reply

